The ACF is dedicated to promoting the game Down Under, and is a member of FIDE, the world chess federation. Our membership consists of Australia’s state and territory chess associations. The ACF produces a free email newsletter featuring local and international news, and much more – past issues can be read here.

If you’re interested in playing in a weekender, check out the the events listing and the ACF Grand Prix series.

There are also comprehensive lists of Australian national ratings, honour boards for champions, award winners and title players. An archive of Australian games can be found at Ozbase.

Committee

The Australian Chess Federation is an incorporated association (association number A 01325) under the Associations Incorporation Act 1991 of the ACT.

Please address your inquiry to the relevant person.

Position Name Contact
President Gary Wastell 22 Bruarong Crescent, Frankston South, Victoria 3199 Australia
0409 525 963
03 9787 7974 (H)
president@auschess.org.au
Deputy President Bill Gletsos deputy_president@auschess.org.au
Vice-president Dr Kevin Bonham vice_president1@auschess.org.au
Vice-president Leonid Sandler 0412 201 891
vice_president2@auschess.org.au
Treasurer Bob Keast treasurer@auschess.org.au
Secretary Rob Watson secretary@auschess.org.au
Auditor Ross Hamilton 02 4384 4740
auditor@auschess.org.au
Assistant Treasurer Tom Saltmarsh asst_treasurer@auschess.org.au
0499 996 559
Government Relations Director John Adams government_relations@auschess.org.au
0411 618 064
Public Officer Denis Jessop public_officer@auschess.org.au
02 6288 1935
Webmaster Dave Thomas webmaster@auschess.org.au
FIDE Delegate & Administrative Officer Dr Kevin Bonham fide_delegate@auschess.org.au
FIDE Trainers Contact Leonid Sandler fide_trainers@auschess.org.au
0412 201 891
FIDE Ratings Officer Bill Gletsos fide_ratings@auschess.org.au
National Ratings Officer Bill Gletsos acfratings@auschess.org.au
National Ratings Officer Graham Saint 0410 835 586

Council Delegates

State Name Contact
ACT Cam Cunningham actcouncillor@auschess.org.au
New South Wales Richard Gastineau-Hills 0403 962 442
02 9498 2760 (H)
nswcouncillor@auschess.org.au
South Australia George Howard sacouncillor@auschess.org.au
Tasmania Tom Saltmarsh tascouncillor@auschess.org.au
0499 996 559
Queensland Mark Stokes 0431 419 136
07 3205 6042 (H)
qldcouncillor@auschess.org.au
Victoria Chris Wallis viccouncillor@auschess.org.au
Western Australia Norbert Muller wacouncillor@auschess.org.au